Facebook Chat Heads Usage Guide [Android]


So Facebook Home has been launched and for all the phones which were not in the compatibility list also have the provision to use this application by Facebook but the phones who have Facebook applications pre-installed on their mobile phones will not be able to use it. The most attractive feature of Facebook Home was the chatheads which is now available in all the Android smartphones with the upgrade of Facebook Messenger. Here in this post we will tell you that how these Chatheads work on your Android smartphone.

Just update the Facebook Messenger from the Play store and then this feature will automatically get enabled. When anyone will ping you then you will see the notification as mentioned in the screenshot below.


If more than 1 user have pinged on you on Facebook Messenger and you have not seen them, then you will see the chatheads piled up upon one another with the last ping at the top of the pile. Just tap the chathead and they will be . You will see the window to chat in the Facebook messenger right below the chathead. You reply to the chat right there or you can tap on the highlighted icon to open the Facebook messenger application.


If you have read the chats and you want to delete those chatheads then just tap and drag them, you will see a ‘X’ symbol at the bottom center of the screen. Drag and place the chathead on that cross and then it will be deleted.


So these are all the features included in chatheads, the most attractive part is the new UI experience offered to the users by these chatheads. Even if you do not have Facebook Home on your phone, you will have the its best feature of Chatheads on your Android phone.

About Abhinav Singh

I am an MBA student and a founder member of NXTInsight. I love to keep the track of smartphones, tablets, wearables and other similar gadgets, so that I could help my readers to make the right decision before buying a gagdet.


  1. Harrison says:

    How do i re-open a chat head if i accidentally deleted it? Do i have to wait for them to respond or can i re open it manually?

Speak Your Mind