[Solved] Stop iPhone, iPad or iPod Contents Gets Deleted When Synced With iTunes


Many users have reported that they lose all the data once they connect their iPhone to iTunes. Now, it is one of the major issues which an iPhone user must have faced once and this is really annoying when you connect your iPhone and then all data gets vanished. Before proceeding further let me tell you that in the solution discussed below, I have mentioned only iPhone everywhere, but all these tips are viable for iPad and iPods also.

Common circumstanced when this problem occurs

  • When you have connected your new iPhone to iTunes installed on your PC.
  • When you have connected your iPhone to another PC or a new PC for the first time.
  • When you have connected your iPhone to a PC on which iTunes have been installed for the first time.


Tips to get over this Problem

  • Remove Auto-Syncing
    I will recommend you to stop the auto-syncing in you iTunes. Sometimes, we do not want the syncing to occur as soon as we connect our iPhone to iTunes. But then then once syncing starts it will complete its all the 7 or 6 steps and then you will be able to disconnect it. Moreover auto-syncing may lead to losing all the data on your iPhone.
    Go the ‘Edit’ menu and under that click the ‘Preferences’ section, which will take you to another window, as mentioned in the screenshot. Just select the appropriate option as highlighted below and then auto-syncing will be stopped.
  • Authorize That Computer for your Apple ID (when connecting to a computer for the first time)
    Syncing is the process where in your computer or laptop will always keep a perfect synchronization between the applications available on your iPhone and the folder on your computer where all the applications are saved.
    This means that if you have installed any application on your iPhone then it will automatically transfer that IPA to the folder on your computer where all the other applications are saved. And, if you download any application from iTunes on your computer, then while syncing, it automatically transfer that application on your iPhone. Unless you delete that application manually from your iPhone or you uncheck that application on the syncing Window.
    But when you are syncing your iPhone for the first on a new computer then, then that computer should fetch all the applications from your iPhone without making any changes to your iPhone. Instead this, sometimes it happens that computer starts deleting all the application from your iPhone.
    This awkward thing happens when you have not authorized that computer on your apple ID and thus computer is not authorized to transfer any data form your iPhone.
    To correct this issue, go to the option named ‘Store’ and then click the option ‘Authorize the Computer’.
  • Stop losing your data when you have connected your iPhone to a new computer (and do not want to authorize it)
    If that is not your computer, and you still want to sync your iPhone as you want to transfer some new songs, then go the ‘App’ sub-tab and then below it, un-check the checkbox for syncing the applications. Similarly you will have to do the same for contacts, images and other important stuff on your iPhone.

These are the only settings which should be taken care of while syncing your iPhone on any computer. Please mention your comments if this problem still persists.

About Abhinav Singh

I am an MBA student and a founder member of NXTInsight. I love to keep the track of smartphones, tablets, wearables and other similar gadgets, so that I could help my readers to make the right decision before buying a gagdet.

Speak Your Mind