Privacy is always a big concern of the users while using any application of internet or on their phones. WhatsApp has the feature of showing the users the ‘time-stamp’ of when the other user checked his/her WhatsApp. It might be annoying for you, when you do not want to reply the message but the user at the other end knows that you have already seen the message. To get rid of this problem you can turn off this feature of Time-Stamp feature which will erase that Time-Stamp of your chat.
But once you turn off this feature you will not be able to see the Time-Stamp of any other user, another problem is that you cannot toggle this feature again and again whenever you want, rather once you disable this feature it will take a gap of 24 hours to enable it again but it will get disabled whenever you want it to be.
Go to Settings and then tap Chat Settings, here most of the users get confused with the option named ‘Message Timestamp’, this feature is the small bubble below every chat message which shown the time at which message was sent or received. Disabling this feature will remove that bubble.
Go to the advanced section and then you will see the Last Seen Timestamp feature. Disabling this feature will stop showing your ‘Last Seen timestamp’ to other users and showing others’ Last Seen timestamp to you.
Please remember that the last seen timestamp tells you that at what time the application was launched, it does not specify whether the user saw your chat or not. Even if the user does read a chat but only opens it, the Last Seen Timestamp will updated for his/her profile.
This feature is good but most of the iPhone users do not know about it. It is similar to the profile views feature of orkut. I expect that in the next update we might be able to block the last seen Timestamp for a particular user.