Categories
Apps News

[Tips] Videos on Instagram

In my opinion, Instagram is one of those companies which has able to marry physical and digital aspects of life merrily. The community allows us to capture a moment and share it with world after applying beautiful filters to it. But Instagram thinks, sometimes simply the static images are not enough to describe the liveliness of the moment. Not anymore.

Facebook (The company acquired Instagram last year in April for $1 Billion) released Video for Instagram on Thursday. Now Instagram will let you capture 15 seconds video which you can share with the world after applying the filters into it.

Like photos there are 13 built-in custom filters into it. After capturing a 15 second video you will be able to choose a cover frame for your video (your favourite scene from the video) so that your videos look great even when they are not playing.

Instagram has also introduced an effect called “Cinema” in the Video. The Cinematic Stabilisation effect slows down the video and makes it easier enough to watch. All you need to do is simply update your Instagram app (the updated version is 4.0 for both iOS and Android) and when you go to take a picture tap the movie camera icon to get into the video mode.

Video for Instagram
Video for Instagram

I am still to try my hands on the updated Instagram application but i read on Instagram Blog that if you sit to watch the videos uploaded by users in the first 8 hours after the launch, it is going to take one complete year. Well that describes pretty awesomeness of the Instagram itself.

Instagram 4.0 for iOS

Instagram 4.0 for Android

Categories
Tips

[How To] Stop Auto-Play Option For Videos on Instagram

Now when the Instagram has introduced the video recording and sharing feature in their application, users are experimenting a lot with this features. One of the most common problems related to Instagram which the users have faced is about the cellular data usage on their mobile phones when they open this application. Likes to that of Vine application, this one also auto-plays the videos by default and thus making it really tough for the people to browse through the feeds of their friends when they are using 2G connections on their iPhone.

Even if you are using 3G then your data will be consumed without your will (whether you want to watch that video or not). There is a provision in the settings section of this application which will enable the start button for these videos and they will only play when you will tap that start button available on the thumbnail image of that screen. So you will be able to play only those videos which have been selected by you.

Open that application and reach out to the section where you can see your own profile. Tap the setting icon there.

image

Now scroll down on that screen and you will see an option named ‘Auto-Play Videos’ which can be Turned-Off.

image

Once this is done, your problem will be sorted out and the videos no longer will be played automatically. Please let us know if you face any problem while following these steps or if you have any other problem related to instagram.

Categories
Tips

[How To] Track Your Instagram Likes on iPhone or Android

We usually like and comment on most of the pictures over Facebook and Instagram (on any other social networking media), so it will be great if we can have a repository of the images which we have liked as it is good when we tend to go back sometimes and check what all images have been liked by me. Or if you want to unlike any of the images then locating that post will be very easy for you with the help of this repository of the liked posts.

This tip is pretty simple and it seems that they have introduced this section recently in the setting part with their new update. Open the applications and then go to your profile section, where you will be able to see the gear option for the settings screen.

image

Now under the options you will see the option named ‘Posts you have liked’. Tap this option and you will see all the images liked by you (in the feeds format and in the thumbnail format).

image

image

So, with the help of this option you will be able to keep your eyes on the record of the posts which you have liked. Please let us know if you face any problem while following this.

Categories
Tips

[How To] Tag Friends on Instagram Photos

With the new feature introduced in Instagram application now users will have the ability to tag the users in their photo and once the friends on Instagram tag you in their photos, you will see all the photos of you taken by your friends and you under a different tab mentioned on your profile page. This feature increases the social involvement of the users on this application and will help the users to get engaged in it.

How To Steps

Open the application and reach out to your profile page where you can actually see the photos taken by on Instagram.

clip_image002

Tap on any of the photos and then on their feed page tap the highlighted area, which will show up the options.

clip_image004

Now select the option named ‘Add People’ to tag the friends.

clip_image006

You will be directed to another screen where you will have to tap on the faces of the photo (or anywhere you want) to create the space for tags and then enter the instagram username of your friends and they will be tagged all the users who are not following you will be able to see that photo of yours in which you have tagged any of their friends.

Categories
Tips

Change Your Instagram User Name [Android]

Most of the time it must have happened with you that while creating an account you do not consider a good username for the account but then later when you come to know that everybody on that social network will be interacting with you through the same username then you must have repented that you could have opted for a better name and then you cannot change that username because the account has already been created and it won’t let you do that. You will have to create a whole new account for a new username. But something like has happened with you in case of Instagram then let me tell you that we will have a solution to that problem and it will let you change your username right now when you are reading this post.

Just follow the steps mentioned in the screenshot, open the application and tap the tab highlighted in the screenshot where you can see your profile and then tap on the option named ‘Edit your Profile’.

image

Tap the field of username and then edit it as per your preference.

image

If the name is available to be registered on your profile then it will be highlighted as green, else if the name is already used by any of the user then it will go RED as mentioned in the screenshot below.

image

That’s it!! Follow these steps and you will be able to change the username of your Instagram profile. Please let us know if you face any problem while following this How To, meanwhile we will let you know if you can do the same with any other social networking account.

Categories
Tips

How To Block Users in Instagram on iPhone, Android

Photos are one of the main source of socializing with your friend on internet but then users are also very conscious about the images which are uploaded on the network and Instagram is a network which only offers the sharing of images about everything related to you. So, privacy is obviously a very delicate feature to take care of. You must be knowing about the private mode of your profile, wherein anybody cannot just start following you rather you will have to approve their following request but what if you want to block a user completely or you want to keep your profile public and you do not want to change that mode just because of a single user .

In this post we will mention about the way in which you can restrict a particular user to even find your on Instagram. For that you will go to the Start icon and search for that particular by his/her Instagram ID or name.
clip_image001

Visit the profile page and then tap the icon on top right corner for further options.
clip_image002

Select the appropriate option and then confirm it when further dialogue box appears.
clip_image003

It is pretty much different from the private mode where you are cautious about everyone who is allowed to follow you but this method mentioned above will stop a particular user who might be annoying you.

Conclusion

This feature is good but the only which I came across is that even after blocking the user, I was able to view his profile though I did not have option to follow him/her but I should not be able to see the profile when the user has been blocked but yes if you plan to unblock the user ever in future then you will just have to follow the same steps and then unblock him. This feature is good and near expectations.